ChronoTron

All your base are belong to us

Phew!

with 24 comments

All through the while, as I was typing this post (I miss the good old days when I used to write stuff before typing it *sigh), I had half a mind to change the title to “The Week that wasn’t”, because I couldn’t think of anything else that describes my first week in IITR better.

Abra, Cadabra “Electronics and Communication” – so said the notice. After the initial feeling of being a “prisoner of my own device”, the chastisations by my venerable seniors and hauntingΒ  by ghosts of the ubiquitous second-decimal point, I attained a state which can be classified as predominantly blissful. The subjects seemed great and to my joy Data Structures was a five credit course… I was just thinking “All’s well….” when R-land’s very own Murphy showed his ugly face.

Of all the great institutes in the world, it is only in R that you end up regretting filling up that coveted list; it is only in R that branch-changers are treated like criminals. The last one week has seen me losing almost all the weight that I gained this summer. Running about the institute – dept to dept, acad section to ug, dosw to dean-ug , I would have given those ethopian marathon runners a run for their money. Bureaucracy at its very best. Last I heard, I had become such a familiar face in the DOSW’s office that they were considering giving me a clerical position. What with the recession and all, I should probably go ahead and take it.

But all cribbing aside, R-land’s tranformation is still underway. New faces, New cycles and new buildings, one wonders what happend to our dear mantra of “Go green“. Familiar faces are being sorely missed, especially in the gaon (make it) dubai. But their legacy lives on, “Ashok Rajaraman, B.Tech Metallurgy”, it says on my trunk. Thanks rapu πŸ™‚ And there is this quaint charm of seeing lost faces in front of RJB, parents bidding teary farewells and snapping of photos near the library building – feels like you’ve travelled one year back. But with a difference. The hunter has become the hunted. The albatross around our necks in the form those two “Rs.10 non-judicial papers” has led to the sophomores maintaining significant distance from the freshers. As for dreaded R-word…. shuuuussshhh!! it does not exist except in those huge banners. Fearless fachahas striding about the insti playing mafia wars in the library computers. Bah!

Just like the knights templar out to get the holy grail, I too was on a mission – to get my abode transferred to other side of the dreadead slope. After hours of pleading and making the government workers understand what I wanted in my heavily accented broken hindi, things seem to have taken a turn for the better. Azad, here I come. (No, not if I get a matchbox room).

Azad reminds of one of my favourite quotes that I happened to re-read recently.

Freedom is the freedom to say that two plus two make four. If that is granted, all else follows

Cheers!

Written by Chronoz

July 28, 2009 at 6:24 pm

Posted in Council of Elders

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looking at the strictness of rules against the dreaded R-word this year, I really wonder if things are being overrated. Whats more pissing off to think about than being reverse ragged by a bunch of facchas! Sigh! 😦

    And of course, R-officials get this sadistic pleasure by seeing you run around for pointless things… All part of the filial love R has to offer to us i guess πŸ˜› (Not to forget the warm colourful welcome she offers us at the start of every semester with half a dozen cards!) πŸ˜‰

    Raghav

    July 28, 2009 at 6:46 pm

  2. And still you crib that you’ve lost out on your writing skills. πŸ™‚

    A hearty congratulations, as I’ve told you before. Life, I love you, all is groovy!

    Listen to more Simon and Garfunkel, boy. If it can help ME, it most certainly will help you.

    P.S – If it makes you feel any better, I am positive that I am failing one class at Harvard. I don’t know why I am so impassive about this though. I should be tearing my hair out. (Not that it needs any more damage, but still).

    Shruthi

    July 29, 2009 at 12:17 am

  3. May you find freedom and peace of mind in your dream Bhawan. And make it big in your dream branch. As for Ragging, let us bid our time. Little basters are getting cheekier by the year.

    Arun

    July 29, 2009 at 11:29 am

  4. Nice post shre. Dont suppose u remember me tho. Im varun btw(aops.ring ne bells? alas, genii like you have a penchant to forget poor sods like me)). i joined roorkee this year. Im yet to come to amicable terms wid R-land(Atleast wid the horrid weather). And the reverse ragging rags is referring to here, has, in all probability, been heavily influenced by our recent meeting. I dint ‘rag'(pun intended!:-p) him as a token of our friendship, but he certainly seems a little judiciously nervous after having taken cognizance of my herculean body, bulging biceps and 8 pack abs and my charismatic yet intimidating presence in general.
    And Arun, whoever you are,or am i supposed(in keeping with the tradition of R-land) to call u ,err,(lo)sir?? if playing mafia games amounts to cheek in your eyes, this post might seem like iconoclastic blasphemy. But unfortunately, all dat comes in the way of you losers and the so called facchas, is a single piece of paper bearing the insignia of the supreme court, and, not to mention, your pusillanimity. Besides i may not exactly be your junior by virtue of my primogeniture. And the fact that you were stupid enuf to get ragged in your first year doesnt entitle you get some payback this year. So, ahem, seniors – a general piece of advice – dont wander abt the campus all by yourself, esp at nite. Who knows, a so-called faccha like yours truly mite be prowling around as well.

    Now b4 u guys start thinking that this is a peremptory challenge to your authority, and start cracking your knuckles and get all heated up and ready to beat the crap outta me, lemme assure you, it is not. So, Chillax, guys. I was just kidding here. In fact, i agree with raghav here, dat things are a bit overrated. Im always game for a bout of ragging as long as it doesnt physical violence. Not that im scared. I just dont wanna hurt neone of you. :-p
    And Arun, no offence intended, just kidding.

    roorkee_newbie

    July 29, 2009 at 5:17 pm

  5. We had a quintessential Bihari for our Bhawan secy in RJB. And when I say Bihari, I mean Bihari- lousy accent, plastic smile, poor dressing sense- the whole nine yards. Anyway, the guy would always try to talk to me in English and would occasionally even try his hand at a pun or two. The day I shifted to Azad, he greeted me saying- ‘Ajaad! Eventually you are the independent.’ It wasn’t remotely funny but it suits the occasion.

    dela

    July 30, 2009 at 4:10 am

  6. Azad boy?
    My condolences.
    And my congratulations for the Branch Change. You’ll be fine in EC, no doubt.

    Saagar

    July 30, 2009 at 10:09 am

  7. my comment is still awaiting moderation. wth!!

    roorkee_newbie

    July 30, 2009 at 3:02 pm

  8. Nice post shre. Dont suppose u remember me tho. Im varun btw(aops.ring ne bells? alas, genii like you have a penchant to forget poor sods like me)). i joined roorkee this year. Im yet to come to amicable terms wid R-land(Atleast wid the horrid weather). And the reverse ragging rags is referring to here, has, in all probability, been heavily influenced by our recent meeting. I dint β€˜rag’(pun intended!:-p) him as a token of our friendship, but he certainly seems a little judiciously nervous after having taken cognizance of my herculean body, bulging biceps and 8 pack abs and my charismatic yet intimidating presence in general.
    And Arun, whoever you are,or am i supposed(in keeping with the tradition of R-land) to call u ,err,(lo)sir?? if playing mafia games amounts to cheek in your eyes, this post might seem like iconoclastic blasphemy. But unfortunately, all dat comes in the way of you losers and the so called facchas, is a single piece of paper bearing the insignia of the supreme court, and, not to mention, your pusillanimity. Besides i may not exactly be your junior by virtue of my primogeniture. And the fact that you were stupid enuf to get ragged in your first year doesnt entitle you get some payback this year. So, ahem, seniors – a general piece of advice – dont wander abt the campus all by yourself, esp at nite. Who knows, a so-called faccha like yours truly mite be prowling around as well.
    Now b4 u guys start thinking that this is a peremptory challenge to your authority, and start cracking your knuckles and get all heated up and ready to beat the crap outta me, lemme assure you, it is not. So, Chillax, guys. I was just kidding here. In fact, i agree with raghav here, dat things are a bit overrated. Im always game for a bout of ragging as long as it doesnt physical violence. Not that im scared. I just dont wanna hurt neone of you. :-p
    And Arun, no offence intended, just kidding

    roorkee_newbie

    July 30, 2009 at 5:21 pm

  9. @Raghav: I personally feel this whole concept of ragging is over-rated (by both sides) and pointless. The worst part is, tradition demands a chapo after ragging.

    @Shru: The glass is half full. You are failing in HARVARD πŸ˜€

    @Arun: Delete your comment da. Big brother may be reading this blog.

    Chronoz

    July 30, 2009 at 7:03 pm

  10. @Dhela: Were you that big a “thala” in your first year? people try making small talk in english?

    @Lefty: I didn’t get matchbox. πŸ™‚

    Chronoz

    July 30, 2009 at 7:05 pm

  11. @Insolent Fachcha:

    Hi da. Wanted to meet you that day but had some work. 8 Pack abs indeed. LOL
    Whats with the GRE vocab though? Pop over sometime to azad. Or we’ll meet you soon. Very soon.

    As for the comment moderation, thats what you get when you type such long comments. Next time mail you or add me on gtalk.

    Chronoz

    July 30, 2009 at 7:09 pm

  12. Dying to meet you, Varun. You have spoken a lot without thinking about the consequenses. We have better things to do than make you midgets dance to our beats. You have no business prying on our little inside jokes. IITR will teach you some manners. Pig-headedness will make it really tough for you to survive in this insti, which is very dear to the lot of us. Anyway, thou shalt reap what though have sown.

    Yours Pusillanimously
    Arun Kumar

    Arun

    July 30, 2009 at 7:34 pm

  13. I am that big a thala even now da.

    dela

    July 30, 2009 at 8:50 pm

  14. Did i mention dat im a champ pugilist as well. Oh, with all the other exemplary skills and virtues i possess, i tend to forget the trivial talents dat i possess. And my expertise in martial arts is legendary. Oh, i also weigh 300 pounds and am 6’6. So, will be looking forward to a tete-a-tete, esp at nite with the light( or the lack of it), accentuatuing my masculine contours even further.

    roorkee_newbie

    July 31, 2009 at 7:01 am

  15. @chronoz: my email id is varun.arasu@gmail.com. Will probably catch up with you sometime when im free, or rather when you are free, coz complete velagiri(picked up some hindi jargon already:-) has taken over me already.

    roorkee_newbie

    July 31, 2009 at 7:01 am

  16. @arun:seems like you havent read the last part of my post. it was supposed to be a joke. seems like all this slogging in rland has ruined your sense of humour. as i said there was no offence intended.

    roorkee_newbie

    July 31, 2009 at 7:07 am

  17. sorry for the triple posting or is it quadruple? Seems like you seniors have misconstrued my post(judging by what i hear frm raghav). Ok, i admit it, i mite have seemed a tad cocky, but i wrote dat post when i was on a high. not frm spirits,i shud like to add, but after killing 5 expert bots in cs single-handedly(which is tantamount to topping jee for a cs tyro like me. :D)
    @Arun i wasnt referring you to in particular. mebbe you have better stuff to do than ragging juniors but im sure many seniors are just itching to do just dat. why else have so many precautions been put in place?? and the few seniors ive spoken to, while i asked for directions, acted like i was a piece of shit, showing attitude and talking in a condescending tone. my earlier tirade was mainly directed at them, not you. another longish post (succinctness was never my forte. 😦 ) awaiting moderation. Sorry, Shre, but your blog seems to have become a BBS for contretemps between seniors and facchas.

    roorkee_newbie

    July 31, 2009 at 11:53 am

  18. well, random faccha (if that’s the roorkee newbie) made me scroll through for ages to get to this point! sigh (or rather, swive him!..ooops, that’s scary now..)
    so, this accomplice extends his vehement ratification (if that really exists!) to the red tapism that almost ruined the bliss of finally getting into that coveted ‘class of 2012’. welcome to the non-gaon area of the insti. and i wonder whether the other tam-bram is all set to fill up your void in the gaon? he too needs to go through that initiation of the warden-warden-i-need-a-room cesspool! (open to interpretation, now that things are legal..)
    & rascal, you owe me that chapo!

    Barida

    July 31, 2009 at 6:21 pm

  19. heck! why did i even bother to read through all those comments! i guess maddu land is in for some serious bouts/encounters/ word games…phew, for sure….
    didn’t anybody remind random faccha that it’s pcm one has got to be tested on, and not ostentatious vocabulary and pack-baazi!

    Barida

    July 31, 2009 at 6:32 pm

  20. @Bari: πŸ˜€

    @Everyone else: That’s all folks. πŸ™‚ The END!

    Chronoz

    August 1, 2009 at 5:03 am

  21. The red-tapism is indeed frustrating. I have had to run around the main building just to get an official stamp on some scholarship papers.

    _Himmat achhi cheez hoti hai, Himakat nahi_

    – Kudos

    Tope

    August 1, 2009 at 2:53 pm

  22. Time to follow your own advice and look at the glass as half full. And you’ve got friends in Harvard? *Squeak*.

    Seems a random faccha is bugging you. Poor guy. Too many people read this blog to miss his name or remember his antics.

    Raps

    August 1, 2009 at 4:45 pm

  23. Nice quote, that one from Winston Smith. Congrats on getting an Azad-non-matchbox. And yes, I felt the same way a year back and I wrote a post ‘La Roue a Tourne’ on the exact same things…

    By the way, contingency planning suggests you purchase a bicycle before applying for BC. Can’t see how you overlooked that! As for running, you have seen nothing really. Just look what happens if some dim-bulb fails to add your Proficiency credits to your grade sheet. Not only do u run long and far, u run faster than ever before!

    Anirudh

    August 2, 2009 at 10:37 am

  24. One word, shre : Ouch.
    Some cosmic interference thankfully inhibits me from using my legs too much. I love my college in this aspect. Oh and about the Ragging part, remember atheetha, the girl from d section it was rumored that ara from our class went out with? Yeah her … She got suspended. Sand laughed so much when he heard this that he sent a 2 part message just filled with =Ds … My college is cracking down a lot worse. Tell you when wemeet

    Rapster

    August 7, 2009 at 8:32 pm


Leave a Reply

