ChronoTron

All your base are belong to us

Winds of Change

with 11 comments

“A Maddu Related to time – 5 Weeks ago” croons the blogroll of a certain Mr.B. Speaking of Blogrolls, my own begs to be updated. The brightly lit population of R-land having to taken to blogging as the last resort to counter velagiri, it is high time I updated my blogroll with the newest bunch of illustrious names.  It was just the other day that the Mallu Marauder with his usual verbose pragmatism posed the question, “you have been a rather sedate blogger these vacations?”… more a double edged sword than a question.

The answer, I borrow from the Platonist, “It’s not time but me”.. And yet this summer has been an eye-opener of sorts. In all probability the most packed and productive summer of my whole eighteen years of existence. The realization of a certain Ex-Chairman’s, “The closer you get to Maddu land the more awesome you get” has fully dawned upon me (Awesome being a very subjective term of course). Very vividly, I recall the last few days spent at R-Land, the packing of books and the promise I made to myself, “Enough of ghissing. It’s time I started participating” with the most sincere of intentions. But now, the label of “ghissu”, nor the jeers of my compatriots matter nought, I know that my tryst with graph theory, parameterized complexity and the connected vertex cover and in general algorithms is far from over.

Inspirations come in different shapes and sizes. More often than not, it has been people. Be it Pete Sampras, Steve Jobs, innumerable family members, seniors at school and college or even teachers. This time however it is an environment that has opened my knowledge eye, to quote a tamil cliché. The summer programme has come at the right time and right place. Having rediscovered my passion for algorithms and been exposed to the fascinating world of Theoretical Comp.Science, I am left wondering whether I have found the answer to my life, the universe and everything else. Sample this:

1)       The atmosphere – brilliant
2)       The papers being published – mind blowing
3)       The rapport between PhD Scholars and profs – a stark contrast to my own dear institute

I am contemplating, with utmost seriousness, about a career in research. Research, as I have learnt, is slow and terribly frustrating but nothing beats the sheer joy of having discovered something by yourself. However insignificant it may be, it still remains a small step for mankind and giant leap for yourself.

Epilogue:

As awesome as Maddu Land is, R-land still commands a class of its own. “Results not yet finalized da”, the god of fun announced giving room to more frustration. One wonders whether we are expected to do a Pinky before finding out our true destination.

Fate hangs in the balance, but the road ahead is clear. All is well… for now.

Written by Chronoz

July 9, 2009 at 11:56 am

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s a very good post man. You seem to have finally found your calling; good for you. A true student of Science will always be a researcher- proving existing principles and discovering new concepts is what personifies one. I always make it a point to prove all theorems and formulae I encounter by myself before using it. You are taking it to the next level. The path ahead is clear for you. Exciting times beckon.

    Good old R-land. We might get to know our branches by the time our graduation certificates go for printing.

    Arun

    July 9, 2009 at 2:42 pm

  2. @Arun: I don’t think many people can boast of that (Proving every single result they encounter)… Heck people are hardly interested in anything.

    as for the BC: Even if it’s out by that time, I’m okay with it. After all, whatever we study doesn’t really seem to to matter, nor does it seem to be related to the degrees we get. 😀

    Chronoz

    July 9, 2009 at 3:21 pm

  3. u sure will feel sad if u realize how i spent my hols.happy to see a true seer emerge among us.enjoy

    psr akhilesh

    July 9, 2009 at 3:27 pm

  4. It’s all a question of time, dear minion. You will soon see R-Land for the dreary hamlet it truly is. My first visit to Madduland in two years has brought out the Tambi in me- I have never looked forward to returning to R-Land less. Oh well, another year and I’ll be out of the ruddy place.

    dela

    July 9, 2009 at 4:38 pm

  5. @Pisra: If you enjoyed your hols, then why bother what others think??

    @Dela: Once a Thambi, always a tambi. On a sidenote, first time in two years :O.. No wonder you seemed positively stripped of most maddu-like characters when I first saw you 😛

    Chronoz

    July 9, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    • no,no….i meant i did not spend my hols fruitfully.i didn’t enjoy much nor do anything gr8.that’s why the sadness.

      psr

      July 14, 2009 at 4:39 am

  6. First things first: Its great that you’ve found the love of your life; and have realised the spirit of research. The job (or the lack of it?) of a researcher is ultimate fun, cuz you decide what you do, you decide your problem, you work for a solution… and you do something new each day 🙂
    Wonderful post, and I have been having a feeling similar to yours about not posting in a long time.
    There s so much to write about, the fun we had at ISI D, my meeting with one of the best professors of my life, my newfound passion for abstract algebra and other finer things about life I ve been thinking about recently.

    And about madduism, Maddu = Awesomeness. A natural bijective map, to say the least! 😉
    And as for R, as I was telling Chappli the other day, things are most beautiful the way they are 🙂

    Raghav

    July 9, 2009 at 5:59 pm

  7. Although my intern has only distanced me from engg even more, good to find someone genuinely interested in engg at last!

    Btw, I havent met one as curious as yourself about the BC.
    There goes yet another tamil cliche-
    “The closer you get to Madduland, the bigger the ghissu you get”.
    Time tested fact, true story!

    The GOD of fun(aloo?)

    July 10, 2009 at 3:06 pm

  8. Are we looking at the next Rajesh Koothrapalli?

    Saagar

    July 10, 2009 at 5:10 pm

  9. @Leftyji,

    Ofcourse not. I am perfectly capable to talking to girls when I’m sober 🙂

    @Mr.Potato
    I won’t take your comments seriously. You aren’t that awesome anymore, remember?

    @Raghav ji: Well said!
    btw, where on earth are you??

    Chronoz

    July 11, 2009 at 2:32 pm

  10. Seems like the Mathematician is no longer alone! Anyway, Dela’s first tryst with Madduland in two years has brought out the compulsive liar in him! And I am glad that you people are putting Jetty to good use – i.e. chking out BC results.

    I hope you remain firm to your resolve, as many times during the next 3 years IITR will try to deter you from going forth and discourage you from doing research. Cheers.

    Anirudh

    July 11, 2009 at 2:46 pm


Leave a Reply

