ChronoTron

All your base are belong to us

2008.. A love story!

with 10 comments

The author acknowledges the inspiration provided by a certain friend and would also like to add that he is a shameless git without an ounce of creativity!

I have previously exclaimed that “Love at first sight” is more of a cliched feeling than a real emotion. Yes, I have great pleasure in announcing that I still go by my “words of wisdom” (or whatever nonsense you wish to call them) but yet, last month, my heart hovered closest to that cliched phrase. That was when…… I first met Maria.

It was a long morning by anyone’s standards. After a tiring session in a library and some quickfire cricket(which is what I was doing all these days), I returned home and dressed in my very best to meet someone whom I knew would spend the next few years with me. When I first met her, I have to admit, she didn’t exactly look like what I had designed her in my mind, but then again (after a woefully pathetic 7), designing was never my thing, was it? She was pretty no doubt … she didn’t really have striking features but she was the kind to whom my kind would be drawn to, at first sight. Simple is beautiful 🙂

I didn’t exactly fall head over heels or anything but was most definitely drawn to her and she to me! After the customary introductions, I set about examing her from all possible angles. Apart from the plain front-view, everything else was fine. She was slender and svelte… kinda dark but then again her colour really intrigued me. She wasn’t very fair nor extraordinarily dark. Infact she was blue (my favorite color, btw); midnight blue, to be precise. She was slightly bigger than her counterparts but her figure was perfect. And everytime I looked at her, she smiled back as if saying, “I’m the one for you!”.

With slight hesitation, I introduced Maria to all my family members and to my complete surprise, they just accepted her.. Wow, this wouldn’t have happened on any other day, i was wondering. When I first held her in my hands, I felt a kind of boyish excitement that I had felt long years ago…  I stroked her body gently, she didn’t seem to mind. Things were moving quite fast but neither of us cared. Silently, we both slipped into my room away from the drawing room (where the rest of the family was speculating about its new member).. We moved closer now, touching was passe! And now, we were ready….. I turned her on and was about to examine her contents when she started blinking in a dizzy sort of way… WHAT!!!!

“Low Battery”, her monitor said in big block letters.. *sigh. I had forgotten to charge my laptop. There goes the internal examination.

What say you, fellow geeks?
2GHz Processor, Intel Core 2 Duo
2 GB Ram
160 GB Hardisk

Nothing special I know. Its a budget model, plus I’m not into games and all….  Here are the customary views, coming from a mechanical student.

Sideview of Toshiba Satellite L305

Rearview of Toshiba Satellite L305

Frontview of Toshiba Satellite L305

P.S: My block sucks cause wifi is not properly installed here. So bear with me, friends, masters, minions and nitwits, if I suddenly pop off while chatting.

P.P.S: Boy, is it cold here! The freezing freak is dying a painful death..

P.P.P.S : Yeah, I couldn’t get topview.

Vote for me now! Blogomania 2010 sponsored by Odyssey360 | The 24 hour online book store with 5 milion books to choose from.

Written by Chronoz

January 4, 2009 at 9:01 am

Posted in All about Me, Yet Another Rant

Tagged with ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. copy cats are never acknowledged by the world ok? i hope u know that 😀

    Vasu

    January 4, 2009 at 9:10 am

  2. what u named her maria after all? i thought u wanted a more tech-ie name..or was maria more for the sake of the post than anything else 😀

    Vasu

    January 4, 2009 at 9:10 am

  3. Thala post da.. 😀 😀

    And the name has historical significance of a different kind, doesn’t it?? 😀

    Vignesh

    January 4, 2009 at 5:19 pm

  4. @ Shre

    7 is woefully pathetic, eh? Mental note made. Mine’re the same specs, btw. But, not Toshiba’s grit!
    Also, you don’t have any minions yet.

    @ Vasu

    Never trust geeky basters. That must be an acronym or something.

    Murty

    January 5, 2009 at 7:03 am

  5. Maria rocks. I can tell. I’ve got her twin at home, and I enjoy her a lot, so I guess I know what it feels like to be with her.

    Saagar

    January 5, 2009 at 2:34 pm

  6. talking of laptops like women..sigh..whats the world coming to?
    btw sounds like MARIA = Material Artefact Rousing Imaginative Association
    😀

    Vasu

    January 5, 2009 at 5:20 pm

  7. really very disappointing to know the true nature of maria…but i guess you have found an effective alternative soln to a big real world problem.

    psrakhilesh

    January 6, 2009 at 11:02 am

  8. all this for a laptop..grow up..

    varun

    January 10, 2009 at 1:42 pm

  9. @PSRA: Thats what engineering is all about, optimal solns to big real world problems.

    Chronoz

    January 22, 2009 at 1:08 pm

  10. MARIA=laptop….
    ahhh…. i BOW at you.:P

    umanidhi

    February 4, 2010 at 10:56 am


Leave a Reply

