ChronoTron

All your base are belong to us

Lakshya – That’s the word!

with 4 comments

“What is the best way to unwind”, a friend asked the other day and I was left wondering. The question came at the right time too; the dreaded end sems had just taken its toll on the sanity of the (few) normal people in R-Land and zombies finally got a couple of days before being sent to conc err….NCC camp. The question ofcourse has been asked over and over and time has not thrown up any particular answer. My gyan is quite simple. You do what helps in relaxing you the most. For some it’s movies, some fiction and for a few (sad) creatures, its back to studying.

My own “ultimate stressbuster” has been discussing stories. I know this sounds weird but my friend and I have this (apparently) weird habit of developing stories for our own (imaginary) movies. Our stories have covered all themes – action, romance, masala : you name it, we’ve done it! Sample this – The road not taken! Most of my friends are biased against our stories and make it their sole aim to diss us, but believe me, after a hard day’s work, there’s nothing more relaxing than discussing such bakwaas with a serious frame. Many of our stories have been inspired by real life events and almost all our characters have the essence of the people we meet around us. We not only develop stories but also discuss the screenplay. Believe me, a screenplay is just as important for a movie as its story.

A good screenplay can make the most mediocre of stories a blockbuster and vice-vérsa. And watching Lakshya (this week) just made my opinion stronger. The story, notwithstanding the instant transformation of a useless fellow to a superhero was decent but the bad screenplay ruined the movie. Infact I understood even the “hindi” but not what was happening on the screen. And if know me well enough, then thats saying something!  Jump Discontinuity sucks! Be it in calculus or in cinema. Ironically I felt Lakshya was moving aimlessly.

And personally, so was the NCC Camp. So much time was spent doing next to nothing. If there’s one thing I hate, it’s being idle. But overall, it was a really cool experience and as a senior of mine put it, “10 days you will never forget”. Though the camp would have so much more enjoyable if it were not for the arrival of the numbers and the innumerable SGPA calculations that followed.

I was actually going to blog this a couple of days ago whining that I was an (or is it “a”) 8ptr and that the holidays could now never be as much fun as I had wanted it to be. 8.9 is so close to 9, yet its just not “9”. The so near yet so far feeling has always been haunting me, and this was no exception. Or so I had thought. An unexpected Dhussi in Math and a pleasant result in the subject I was supposed to be weakest at (Chem) more than made up for my pathetic performance in drawing and 8.9 become 9.0833333333333333… Ironically both my friend and I, who were branded as the chem dullheads of the decade scored Dhussis in chem.  You know at times, you see the divine hand where your own hand can’t reach. The same hand that pushes you down will pull you up. Life’s like that.

So what is the keyword of life, I asked myself! As preity subtly puts it across, Lakshya, thats the word. Or if I may use the term – “Driving Force”. Whatever you do in life, the result is determined by how strong your driving forces are. Believe me, the need for talent is very less in today’s mechanical world. To deliver the goods, you just need to push yourself! So I hope I dont get complacent the coming semester and work a bit. Yes, that’s the word!

P.S: If you are using Internet explorer, please download the security patch now. There’s a serious vulnerability.

P.P.S:

Written by Chronoz

December 18, 2008 at 6:01 am

Posted in All about Me, IIT Roorkee

Tagged with , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ah! I’ve got a mate like that, too. But, he actually made a movie. The trailer’s out on Youtube. Last heard, he was looking for distributors giving a good price- they think it’s a kiddo movie and he’s pushing them off. Anyway, I remember liking Lakshya.

    Murty

    December 18, 2008 at 9:28 am

  2. We have discussed each and every line of this post earlier, haven’t we??

    Vignesh

    December 18, 2008 at 6:30 pm

  3. i think you got inspired by lakshya..cos you started with something like ‘what is the best way to relax’ and ended with something about ‘driving force is needed to achieve 9 pts in iit’..’moving aimlessly’-that’s the word…but if you have done it deliberately to create that impression of vagueness then i suggest you become a writer..cheers man..

    varun

    December 19, 2008 at 5:41 am

  4. anyone who worries he wont be a 9 ptr,fusses over it,finds out the world has not ended after all and then writes posts like this ought to have his head examined 🙂

    p.s. i think your way of relaxing is to sometimes study :O
    p.p.s. its shocking but i may be right :O

    Vasu

    December 21, 2008 at 5:21 pm


Leave a Reply

