ChronoTron

All your base are belong to us

Love in the Time of Cholera!

with 20 comments

Bloggers Note: If the title does not even sound vaguely familiar to you, I’m afraid your quizzing funda is not upto the mark. Go Google it, or wiki it or (preferably) scroll down to the bottom of this long, long post to find out what its about.

“Love is in the air”, the purist inside exclaims as the cynic (who has always had his way) snubs it saying, “Yeah, so what! Its always been in the *ahem air from the childhood to the blah, blah…”, you know all the crap! But yet being ’18’ adds a whole new dimension to the above phrase; you actually get to observe it.

Things a IIT aspirant gets to observe can hardly be classified as relevant to the common man. When I closed my house gate, i realized that i should apply my force as far away from the hinge as possible, simply because Torque=Force x r. When the bus braked, Newton’s inertia filled my mind. And ofcourse, when adding sugar to tea, I was reminded of anomers and epimers.

But now that I’m an “IIT’ian”, I really get to see Love (mind you not feel it :P). When one sees people around him going out with each other, he often wonders about the true meaning of this concept called Love. One friend conveniently referred to it as an extended-friendship but I still find it hard to realize the difference between ‘best-friendship’ and the so-called ‘extended-friendship’. Is it all about whispering sweet nothings, private meetings rather than gang meetings? Maybe only (*ahem) experience will tell.

Many a time there is a very thin boundary separating good friendship and love; and our pour souls often do not recognize this (non-existent) boundary as and when they cross it. Speaking of friendship, how can one love a person that he/she is not a good friend of? ‘Love @ First sight’ is more of a misnomer than a cliche. It should rightly be called “Infatuation/Desier/Fetish (I refuse to use stronger words) at first sight”. Only when you get to know a person as a friend, can you ever like them? The reverse can never work. Looks do matter, but a ‘hot-bitch’ is not really the ideal person for a relationship. Like my Thermodynamics book says, “The concept of an idea process is as flawed as that of an ideal partner”. Nice eh?

But imagine the plight of an average Joe (The Plumber?) who after getting to know a girl finds himself crossing that faint boundary, so he dutifully goes and proposes only to be snubbed, “Oh! I never thought of our relationship that way. I’m so sorry”; whatever the “that way” refers to. And he moves a long distance away from her, drinks, and grows a nice beard. 🙂 Speaking of which, I really don’t believe in Long-Distance relationships either. There’s a great possibility of you being two-timed and your partner might have changed a lot when you next met him/her. Moreover, STD/ISD calls aren’t exactly cheap, emails/chats dont match. As a friend summed up, “Expression is everything!!”.

Behaviour Science has given me a lot of belief in Case studies. <>

Apart from these, there are n other problems which if I start mentioning might make this post too long. There’s always the question of intellectual wavelength matching. I for one, would prefer a geeky girlfriend. I am too dumb to whisper sweet nothings. So Bessel Equations of the first kind, quantum chemistry and Graph Theory rock anyday… after all its just an extended friendship right?

So from the above discussions you might have concluded that
1. I’m a cynic of the highest order
2. I’m not in love. Sorry for the misleading title.

But then again, I’m a product of my society as all the personality devp theories go, mine too is developed as I reflect on my surroundings. The society, is after all a mirror right? But no, love is not really bad?? A disputable question, I guess. But since I’m being so cynical, i invite one of you to make a guest post countering me, you could name it “Love in the time of errrrrrrrr………Love”. 😀 I know this post seems pretty random to most of you, but just like love, Randomness is always in the air!!

Bloggers Note: The title is the name of a 2007 movie, in which 2 songs were recorded by Shakira. Shakira was also invited to play as an actress in the film, but Shakira rejected this offer as she did not wish to appear in the nude. So thats all for today…. your comments are most definitely welcome but don’t expect me to change. After all, constancy is the only thing constant in the world.

P.S: Quizzing fever has caught me again. I atlast found that Roorkee does have a good quizzing culture. So three cheers to Litta! I might post a quiz sometime soon. 🙂

Written by Chronoz

November 1, 2008 at 11:20 am

Posted in Council of Elders

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you’re a nitwit.

    Vasu

    November 1, 2008 at 11:38 am

  2. i second vasu and wud like to call u a blubber in addition to the aforementioned accusation

    J

    November 1, 2008 at 12:32 pm

  3. ‘Cholera in the time of Love’ seems like a better title… Although I disagree with your theory of a geeky girl falling for us geeks… Now, look- if any arbit geek can fall for a ‘hot b*t*h’, shouldn’t the gender-based lateral inverse be true? I guess any lady who’s able to appreciate, I iterate, not bear my sense of humour, I’d be happy enough! And, I’m pretty sure geeky girls aren’t the only ones fitting that bill!

    Murty

    November 1, 2008 at 1:03 pm

  4. a=>b does not always imply that b=>a////

    appreciate?? I’m afraid you are going to have to wait for a long, long time and our R land’s ratios aren’t gonna make things any easier.

    Chronoz

    November 2, 2008 at 11:27 am

  5. And here I was thinking that you were talking about Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s novel. The movie was stupid, though. 😀

    As for love, experinece enlightenment, child. Thou shalt remain cynical until thy experiences it.

    I am not saying that I have, but I am not making any sense either.

    Amen!

    Shruthi

    November 2, 2008 at 8:13 pm

  6. Oh well…not a typical comment this one…
    left as randomly as you propose your post was. 😛
    Yes well the point(if i really stopped to ponder over it, which i shouldn’t really bother doing since the ‘randomness’ of it will dissipate the moment i give thought to it…which i think i just did in within these parentheses)… now where was i? Yikes my thought process has been thoroughly jumbled now!

    Hmmmm alright. So i came back in here to leave a comment in one of your previous posts…but as it is with blogs, the lastest one caught my attention and then after a rather amusing 5 mins (in which i read and ‘re-read’…ummm im not that slow a reader heehee)…then after another minute or so of contemplation of whether or not to leave a comment…and then another 2 minutes to ponder over where to leave the comment 😛

    After having complicated things far enough even in my standards, I decided to stick to my randomness 😀

    With the purpose forgotten…and the response to your post (which by the way was a fantastic piece of work) dismissed, I do not know what Ive accomplished except perhaps made a fool out of myself… and carrying the satisfaction of having been able to pull through with it smoothly 😉

    PS: the initial comment was supposed to be on ur *18 till i die* post…erm if i remember correctly…it was to let u have an insight of how my experience contrasted yours 😛

    trixy

    November 6, 2008 at 4:41 pm

  7. @Shru: Looks like experience speaks!!

    @Trixy: WTH was that all about??? i concede defeat, you are the master of randomness!

    Chronoz

    November 8, 2008 at 10:56 am

  8. Shre .. cynical on love ? No wonder we made good friends . But so many KBs of internet space for a post that concerns some abstract shit which is made up of many abstract shit for which many abstractically shitty nutcases write books and more abstractically shitty utterly nonsensical morons write poems … You should be ashamed of yourself !

    Rapster

    November 18, 2008 at 6:29 pm

  9. Abstract eh? If you says so. Read it again & again… maybe light will dawn upon thou

    Chronoz

    November 28, 2008 at 12:50 pm

  10. Heh. The post was too long and filled with crazy crap for me to leave a comment on it. So I shall five you advice. Oh yes!

    My inner mind/third eye/crystal ball/jakamma(crazy witch god)/ tells me that your aathma is troubled. What you do need is “luuuuv”. So do the following:

    1) Go on a pilgrimage and bathe yourself in the ganges(should be somewhat near right?)

    2) If the holy Ganga water wasn’t polluted before, it will be now.

    3) Drink the holy water to cleanse your soul and purge those negative energies from your “aathma”. Keep drinking till you feel good. Usually when people feel good about themselves something bad will happen.

    4) You will be affected with cholera fatally.

    5) Shortly you will fall in love.

    6) One of the 2 ailments should kill you. Or both.

    7) Die peacefully like a wuss or resentfully shouting obscenities at everyone..especially me.

    8) I will laugh at you as you die.

    9) I will laugh some more.

    10) Then I ll make a big budget movie “Love in the time of Cholera” having the power cast of Shakira, Emma Watson, Keira Knightley, Natalie Portman and even Anna Ivanovic. And make it suitable for all ages. Yeah! 😀

    Sand

    November 29, 2008 at 4:38 pm

  11. Abstract … It has no meaning … Fits perfectly . Read it about 5 times . Want me to read more ?

    Sand : Nice itinerary . I’m interested about the last point … Can I be on the sets ? You missed Jolie , Theron and ****Megan Fox**** btw … not becoming of you , is it ?

    Rapster

    November 29, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    • ÃŽn sfârÅŸit articole noi. Am aÅŸteptat toată sÄÄnÃmt¢pa. Acum am aflat de ce nu ai mai postat, are logică, având în vedere că ai fost plecată în inspecÅ£ie. 😛

      Nelle

      March 16, 2017 at 3:07 am

  12. Don’t like Jolie. No idea who Theron is. And yes I shall go and kill myself for missing out on Fox.

    Sand

    November 30, 2008 at 5:07 am

  13. Btw Satti, what’s with the space between the word and question mark? New style?

    Sand

    December 1, 2008 at 9:10 am

  14. Yes . New in case you haven’t messaged me since somewhere in mid september . Dunno why I adopted it . Just like it I suppose . Though its a pin using this style in word … get those fucking green lines every few inches of the screen (its irritating when you have only 15 inches to spare) . Kill yourself ? Don’t you get the feeling that you’re being soft on yourself ? Thats quite a crime you committed =P

    Rapster

    December 1, 2008 at 4:13 pm

  15. Enna koduma da sand edhu?

    Ganga is very close btw.:D

    I will fall in love shortly? Bad joke. ur sense of humor is going down my dear jakkama!

    Fox Fox Fox all the way!

    Shre

    December 2, 2008 at 12:07 pm

  16. “Fall in love shortly” … Combined with the previous point in sands itinerary and the heading , I would say it makes a lot of sense and increases probability of that so called unlikely thing happening (Shre falling in love *cough*) … Wouldn’t you agree ?

    Rapster

    December 2, 2008 at 1:13 pm

  17. My sense of humor gone down? Well well. It was intended to be as meaningful(or the lack of it) as this post but you have taken it seriously to an extent. Someone’s quite touchy touchy. Oooooooooooohhh…… 😀

    *Cough cough..belch…barf* Maybe…just maaaybe it has already happened! *Shock horror*

    Sand

    December 2, 2008 at 5:00 pm

  18. This surely makes perfect sense to anyone

    creation sites haute savoie

    October 13, 2011 at 9:30 pm

  19. Remarkably well written piece!!!


Leave a Reply

