ChronoTron

All your base are belong to us

The Ist battle of Roorkee – 2008

with 6 comments

‘S-15’**: These were the ASCII characters that shined brightly on my admission letter; characters I didn’t realize then, would change my life for the next 1 year. . Yes, I had gotten admission to one of the nation’s most prestigious institutes with the branch of my choice and heck, nothing else mattered. Not the fact that I would be 2000 miles away from home and (2000-2) miles away from my friends, nor the fact that the state I was going to had 93% forests (Thanks to one particular friend for pointing this fact out!) nor did the concerns of food bug me…Yes, nothing else mattered/.

But heeding others words, I did not come with great expectations for the fear that they would shatter just like many times before. But to my pleasant surprise, I found I liked the place (Now I’m lovin it!!). The food was *gasp* edible (thats a huge compliment coming from me). Some people DID speak English and my biggest source of joy – A SINGLE Room. For a not so glorious 4 digit rank, this was awesome. ย What I’ve always craved for, my own space under the sun. True Independence, no prying eyes…..Yes…it was mine atlast… my precioush… The first few days were simply awesome. Looking at some of my not so lucky friends (with a double room), I felt good.

Yes, Life was good till I discovered Zippy (again, unceremoniously named by the same friend), my roommate… It was the mother of all deceits, IIT Roorkee had cheated me… the so-called single room was NOT single actually. ย I had discovered Zippy by accident; while checking the loft one fine day. He/She (do I have a female roommate??) jumped at my sight and scurried back to his (lets assume its male) hiding place place.

Of Course he never disturbed me initially so I didn’t bother much, but day after night he haunted my dreams… What if he fell on me, while hunting. What if he somehow slipped into that bournvita box inside my cupboard…. The thought just grossed me out. So I decided that enough was enough… he had to go! And I got down to the dirty job of chasing him out, so I chased, I chased and I chased forever.. He was just too smart for me. I was really wondering whether god had given it a sixth sense by mistake. He could just anticipate my every move… I had to give up.

Advice poured in from all quarters – be it over the phone or from my neighbours. Some said, if he falls on you, you’ll have good luck. Some advised me to hire a professional assassin, some said, just leave him alone. And one night he was just standing near the fan, as if mocking me that he could do anything while I could not. My battles with the broom were as useless as ever….

And so, with a deep sigh, I had to accept my destiny. I was doomed to be his roommate and live in nauseatic fear for the next one year. Even I as I type this, my mind still wanders in that little loft wondering what he will do next. Considering the horrible sex-ratio here, I might as well go out with it. As IIT’ians we are expected to conquer the world (however cliched this may sound) but I can’t even conquer Zippy. As the saying goes “The greatest battle lies within”.

The first battle of Roorkee is over and the forces of Lord Chronoz have been anhilated by Zippy the lizard.

P.S: First Test series is also over. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

** – Room number changed on request

Written by Chronoz

September 14, 2008 at 11:11 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hehe, yeah lizards are irritating because they shit all over the place. (But they do get rid of some insects.) I used to use Mortein on them, you’ll find it lying dead somewhere after a few days. (You’ll find it by the trail of ants). Always worked.

    arnstein

    September 14, 2008 at 1:38 pm

  2. How can you type such long posts ๐Ÿ˜€

    Kaushik

    September 14, 2008 at 2:01 pm

  3. such an amusing read! that made my evening! ๐Ÿ˜€ good one…hope there are a few more battles to defeat ๐Ÿ˜›

    trixy

    October 3, 2008 at 4:53 pm

  4. ROFL. Shreyas, I applaud you. The greatest battle DOES lie within.

    *salute*

    Shruthi

    October 10, 2008 at 6:03 pm

  5. You know, every first-year inherits much more than a room… Apart from room family-trees (room baap, room dada, etc. Although I think it doesn’t apply to yours), you should know one also inherits a room lizard every year… Some of my corridor mates were actually (un)lucky enough to inherit a whole family of them (and were also forced to watch how it was made in the first place)… Get used to it…

    Murty

    November 1, 2008 at 7:15 am

  6. LOL! ๐Ÿ˜€ I am my own room baap though. :-).. I guess they should stick in that student brochure “Beware! Single room may not always mean so”.

    Chronoz

    November 1, 2008 at 10:26 am


Leave a Reply

