ChronoTron

All your base are belong to us

Stranger in a stranger land

with 4 comments

Sigh. As much as I hate to admit, Dela was right. Gone are the days when upon hearing names like Rajnikanth, Mani Ratnam or even Sadagoppan Ramesh for that matter, my ears would shoot up hoping to hear bits of conversation in a language that I could finally understand. The voluntary introductions to Tamil/Kannada speaking Matkas seem like April Fools’ jokes gone horribly wrong, when I look at them through the rabbithole of nostalgia.

My mutation finally culminated yesterday. I stood in between two gentlemen conversing in a language that I’ve heard all in my life, feigning ignorance with a face placider than R2D2. I even hummed the tune of a despicable Hindi song in case my reactions gave me away and they would start suspecting my origins. Life has come a full circle. The centrifugal force wasn’t particularly enjoyable though. May the force have mercy on my soul.

Written by Chronoz

April 19, 2012 at 9:28 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. as I was telling you today, this one guy recently came up to me and said, ‘yaar, tum to karela se ho, tum ghar pe Cunnud baat karte hue hoge’ or something. I would’ve got senti earlier, but now just smiled his comment off, invoking “serenity now”.

    Raghav

    April 22, 2012 at 3:34 pm

  2. Well, I can’t believe you people even tried befriending matkas just for tamil companionship. When in rome, be a roman but when in north India, drawing in the same inference might be sad. I had been rebuked enough for saying “abbe” all too often when I met my friends back home. Old time conversations seem strange now.
    And btw, that song isn’t even trending these days. I can think of other choice bollywood songs that I hear in those marriages or whatever they are these days.

  3. Hahaha… Somehow, imagining you trying to escape those fellows by humming a hindi song is almost as hilarious as Rajnikanth’s ottumeesai endeavors :)

    Anirudh

    May 16, 2012 at 5:05 pm

  4. And dude, the post you tagged – Dela’s. Check out the comments thread! Oh my god, its fantastic stuff.

    Anirudh

    May 16, 2012 at 5:11 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

